Onyx Brass


Chandos – 2008

Only £5

Click here to buy

A dialogue between the gritty fugues of Shostakovich, and the formidable work of his inspiration, J.S. Bach – re-conceived for brass quintet. Includes a selection from Bach’s Well Tempered Klavier and Shostakovich’s equivalent op. 87, as well as the dazzling BWV 541 ‘Great’ BWV 903.

“some of the most thrilling playing of its kind” Gramophone