Onyx Noir – Jazz Works for Brass Quintet

NMC Recordings – 2018

“Terrific sound and playing”

Guy Rickards, Gramophone Magazine

During our 25th anniversary, we were proud to present our second recording of the year, Onyx Noir. In what is a groundbreaking new direction for brass quintet repertoire, we asked twelve of the finest contemporary British jazz composers to write for the group. They were given only two rules, no improvisation or rhythm section. The results are extraordinarily diverse and cater for all tastes within the jazz idiom. The twelve featured composers are Guy Barker, Trish Clowes, Laurence Cottle, Mick Foster, Mark Nightingale, Liam Noble, David Powell, Jason Rebello, Colin Skinner, Gwilym Simcock, Mike Walker and Kenny Wheeler. 

Here is a link to the official trailer from NMC.

Full track listing:

Stomper – Gwilym Simcock
Holy Chalcedony – Laurence Cottle
1 for 5 – Kenny Wheeler
The Mighty Pencil – Trish Clowes
For Rosie – Mark Nightingale
Inevitable Outcome – Jason Rebello
Symbols at Your Door – Dave Powell
Imaginary Dance – Liam Noble
Onyx Noir – Guy Barker
Hamlet Stories – Mick Foster
Firebox – Colin Skinner
Let Her Go – Mike Walker