Onyx Noir

Onyx Noir is the new album from Onyx Brass. Inspired by the recent surge of excellent British jazz musicians, Onyx has commissioned twelve of the most exciting composers in the scene to write works for the quintet. Onyx Noir is a programme that blurs the boundaries between jazz and classical chamber music. Its tremendous variety – beginning with a Stomp and ending with a Sweet Suite – guarantees audience enjoyment.

The album will be released on the NMC label in 2018, launched to classical audiences at Wigmore Hall on 8 June 2018, and launched to London’s jazz audiences soon after. The group will be touring the album from June 2018 to Summer 2019.


Listen to the first two tracks here:



Onyx Noir full concert programme:

Gwilym Simcock – Stomper
Trish Clowes – The Mighty Pencil
Mark Nightingale – For Rosie
Mick Foster – Hamlet Stories
Mike Walker – Let her go
Jason Rebello – Inevitable Outcome
Kenny Wheeler – 1 for 5
David Powell – Symbols at your Door
Laurence Cottle – Holy Chalcedony
Guy Barker – Onyx Noir
Liam Noble – Imaginary Dance
Colin Skinner – Sweet Suite