According to a recent review on BBC Radio 3, Onyx Brass is a ”wonderful, virtuosic brass quintet.” Established in 1993, and soon to be celebrating their 30th Birthday, they have changed audience perceptions of what the brass ensemble is. Equally at home commissioning new music to performing the classics, or directing workshops in primary schools to delivering masterclasses at The Juilliard School, Onyx Brass is truly the brass ensemble of its generation.

Latest News

  • Onyx Brass Announces Three Day Chamber Music Course at Benslow Music

    News hot off the press, we are delighted to announce that the group will be giving a three day chamber music coaching course at Benslow Music this spring. Situated in rural Hertfordshire and covering the multi-faceted world of playing in a brass chamber group, there…

  • Awards for Festmusik

    Coming to the end of the year and a number of publications and commentators are pulling together their best recordings of 2021 and its good to see Festmusik: A Legacy is receiving its fair share of attention. First piece of silverware has been awarded by…

  • Group to Feature On In Tune Christmas Special

    Tuesday 21st December sees Onyx team up with the BBC Radio 3 In Tune Show for their annual Christmas Special. Broadcast live at 5pm, we will be playing some of our favourite seasonal numbers throughout the programme. Also hosts Sarah Walker and Sean Rafferty will…

”stunningly crisp brass-playing”

Kate Molleson, BBC Radio 3

Our Recordings

Education Work